REM: Image 2 – Gender Swap

I figured that if I was gonna remix stuff, I might as well draw inspiration from the things I love. Disney films have been a huge part of my life, so I decided I wanted to change the look of one of my favourite films – and ultimately I came up with the idea of gender-swapping Peter and Wendy from Disney’s 1953 film ‘Peter Pan’. In order to do this, I had to change their hair, facial structure, facial features and clothing – which I accomplished with the brush tool, clone stamp tool, and a lot of layers. I based them on each other’s composition, for example female-Peter’s lips use Wendy’s colouring, and male-Wendy’s eyebrows copy Peter’s structure. It wasn’t an easy task, but I’m happy with the outcome.

image2

Peter (left) was a bit more difficult than Wendy (right). Despite having to fix the background, it’s much easier to crop hair than to add more on, and his eye caused me a bit of trouble. Apparently masculine features are difficult to make feminine. Also I’m a bit in love with Wendy’s adorably short haircut, not gonna lie.

image2.2

Here’s the original for comparison. (Click for better quality on both images)

Leave a Reply

