EMA: Dérive

“Take a street map… place a glass, rim down, anywhere on the map, and draw round its edge. Go out in the city, and walk the circle, keeping as close as you can to the curve.” 

I drew on a map I printed out of a small section of Melbourne city, and followed it the best I could in real life.  It led me through a few places I had been before, (Treasury Gardens and King Street) but it also led me to some sights I’d never seen.  I visited a lot of cool side streets I’d never been in before and I payed a lot more attention to my surroundings than I usually would when travelling in the city.  I noticed how insanely tall some skyscrapers were, how many business people were on their lunch-breaks and how the trees in the city really look nice in juxtaposition to the buildings and roads.  What I found most interesting is that the city is always changing, so although I had visited certain streets before, it looked completely different to what I remembered.

I created the video above to show some of the path I followed.  I used a red dot on the map in the corner to show roughly where I was travelling in the footage.  It was a relaxing assignment to complete.

Leave a Reply

