EMA: Home

This is what the underneath of my bed looks like when lit up with the flash from my iPhone camera.  It’s not a particularly attractive sight, but I guess it shows a thing or two about my life.

photo (5)

In the foreground of the photo is the charger of my old high school laptop – which I knew was there.  I avoid using the laptop because it’s horribly slow and outdated, hence why it and it’s charger is under my bed.  The second closest item to the camera is a pile of drawing books.  They date from middle school to the present, but I’m consistently using all of them.  I do most of my drawing on my bed so I guess it’s a fairly convenient place to leave them.  These are things I consciously placed under there recently.

On the very left of the photo is a CD player. (Behind it is a green box which I believe was the packaging of an old mobile phone or digital camera – nothing particularly important.  I probably just didn’t want to throw it out in case I needed it – which unsurprisingly, I didn’t.)   I have a lot of fond memories of this CD player, however I haven’t used it since I figured out how to download music, so it’s covered in dust.  To it’s right is a Bratz tin containing all my old Gameboy Advance games.  Sadly, I don’t still have my Gameboy, but I occasionally play an old game or two on my Nintendo DS.

In the middle of the photo is a small chest with teddy bears on it.  It contains relatively important objects that I don’t use.  It kind of functions as a memory-box, or a time capsule that is consistently accessible.  I often forget I have this, until I have to find a place for something useless I want to keep.  Hiding behind the chest is a tiny portable DVD-player I haven’t used in years.  To the very right of the image is a Disney Princess case I used to use for interstate family holidays.  To my knowledge, there is nothing inside it.

The space between the wall and my bed is filled with stuffed toys that have fallen behind or are stuck in-between.  You can see a glimpse of a pillow with the character InuYasha on it, which I bought at my first pop-culture convention.  Peeking from behind the case is my Happy plushie (who looks kind of creepy under there, so I’ll put him back on my bed after I type this).  Wedged between the bed-frame and the wall is a hand-sewn dango my friend made for me in high school, and a Bugs Bunny toy I got from Movie World many years ago.

The space under my bed isn’t particularly exciting, however it seems to contain a lot of pleasant childhood memories.
I should probably clean it up.

Leave a Reply

