EMA: Image Project

For my Image Project, I recreated a looping image by a ‘Japanese Roll Artist’ on tumblr. The original GIF contains a single frame of a woman at a desk, whilst a few objects in front of her are moving. 

In my own version, I changed the setting to a girl studying at the kitchen table.

cinemagraphfinal2

(click on the image for better quality!!)

In order to replicate the original image, I took a video and edited the frames on Photoshop. I left the candle flame animated on the right of the image, and made the centre of the image move as well. Instead of rotating scientific equipment, I used frames of her hand flicking the page up and down. It’s difficult to see at first, but if you look carefully, you can see steam rising out of the mug also. 

Screen Shot 2014-08-17 at 9.20.18 pm

After importing the video file as frames, I had to select certain parts to delete. This took a while because I had to do it on each individual frame. I left one layer of the girl and selected it on every frame so it would be underneath the moving objects.  In order to make the movement of the hand and the page flow, I had to make duplicate layers and reverse their order (like a mirror – so her hand went up and down). This caused a few complications because it interfered with the other sections I was trying to animate. After a lot of selecting, deselecting, copying, pasting and deleting, I managed to get the candle, the book and the steam looping.

Screen Shot 2014-08-17 at 9.36.26 pm

To finish it off, I edited the image a bit and blurred the background. I saved it as a GIF and whilst I couldn’t get the quality as good as it was when I started, it turned out looking pretty nice. 

Leave a Reply

