MNC: Hypertext on TV

There’s clearly a lot of ‘hypertexting’ in modern media. Just in film and television alone, there are references here, there and everywhere. Obvious examples are the Simpsons and Seinfeld – both shows often have episodes that reference well known films, books and pop culture. I’m thinking that it’s the same for Loony Tunes. I don’t remember that much about what actually happened in the many episodes I watched as a kid, but I do remember Bugs and Daffy and all the rest dressing up as well known characters and icons. Now that I think about it, I remember Tweety pretending to be Sherlock Holmes at some point. Of course as a kid, most of these references would’ve flown over my head. But it doesn’t change the fact that there’s a bucket-load of this stuff on television these days.

Leave a Reply

